How to make the perfect cuppa cinnamon-ginger tea

Ginger’s fragrance is warm and spicy and is used in traditional medicine to treat colds, fevers, loss of appetite, nausea, inflammation and genito-urinary and lung infections. It is also known to protect the liver. In addition, ginger is a stimulant and aphrodisiac.

   Cinnamon is also warm and spicy with a bit of sweetness. It is thought to be an aphrodisiac that relieves tension and invigorates the senses. Cinnamon is a perfect complement to ginger tea.

Let’s try it:

  1. Add 3 cups of cold water to a saucepan and heat on high
  2. Peel fresh ginger root and slice thin. (I used about 1/4 cup)
  3. Add 1/8 tsp. ground cinnamon or 1 whole cinnamon stick to water
  4. Add ginger to water.
  5. Bring mixture to a boil.
  6. Cover the pan and remove from heat.
  7. Let the tea sit for 15-20 minutes.
  8. Strain and pour into your favorite tea-cup. Sip while reading a good book!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vegan Epicurean
    May 05, 2010 @ 03:41:31

    Aimee,

    I drink ginger green tea all day long. But I love the idea of adding cinnamon! Thanks for posting this. I am going to give it a try tomorrow morning.

    Alicia

    Reply

    • aimeeshealthyliving
      May 05, 2010 @ 03:44:51

      Good for you Alicia! Today (after posting) I drank ginger tea all day long 🙂

      Reply

      • Vegan Epicurean
        May 05, 2010 @ 13:45:51

        Aimee,

        I remembered to add cinnamom to my ginger and green tea this morning. What a wonderful aroma that adds. Perfect to help me wake up. However, I can see myself drinking this all day too. Thanks so much for this post. 🙂

        Quick question, do you think it is possible to get too much cinnamon? That was brought up on my blog and it surprised me. I was wondering what your thoughts are on this.

        thanks,
        Alicia

      • aimeeshealthyliving
        May 05, 2010 @ 17:54:05

        Good morning Alicia,
        After researching a bit this morning, it looks as though it is possible to get too much cinnamon, as in 1-2 tbsp. each day may be a little excessive. This would be true if the cinnamon you take contains coumarin which may be toxic to the liver. Aparrently, Chinese and Cassia varieties contain this naturally occuring compound. I would suggest using cinnamon in relatively small doses (ie. 1/4 tsp. here, 1/2 tsp. there). It’s an interesting question. Offhand, I wouldn’t think one could get too much cinnamon, but I guess too much of anything isn’t healthy! The question is, how much is too much? Thanks for asking Alicia.

      • Vegan Epicurean
        May 05, 2010 @ 18:16:37

        Aimee,

        Thanks so much for researching that; you are too kind. 🙂 I feel better now since you found that 1/4 or 1/2 teaspoon should be fine. That is what I was seeing too but you are trained in this sort of thing and I am not. I would love to see a post with your research if you feel like writing it.

        thanks again!
        Alicia

  2. Kally
    May 05, 2010 @ 21:01:43

    I just put more Ginger on the grocery list! This sounds really good. Liver you say! So much the better.

    Reply

  3. theresa
    May 06, 2010 @ 22:11:15

    Aw yum, this sounds perfect for the cooler mornings we have been having here.

    Reply

Leave a comment