Pineapple for weight loss

fresh Hawaiian pineapple

I’ve been snacking on fresh pineapple lately (they are ripening in the garden just beyond my front door) and have noticed what a great snack and even dessert they are. After some thought, I’ve concluded that fresh pineapple, accessibly cut into chunks and kept in the refrigerator are an easy snack that curbs my cravings for other sugar-laden sweets. In turn, I would have to say raw pineapple is a great food for weight-loss.

A slice of pineapple contains abut 40 calories and no fat and is rich in water (nearly 186%) that will certainly stimulate you to go to the bathroom. It contains the enzyme bromelain -a natural anti-inflammatory agent that is good for your skin and muscles.

Be sure to eat fresh pineapple. Not the pineapple you get in a can that is pre-cut, sliced and stuck in syrup. In this form, most of the good things in a pineapple have been flushed out.

Fun Facts:

  • Pineapple provides quick energy, is easily digested and encourages regularity.
  • Fresh pineapple juice is a great alternative to water when it comes to re-hydrating and flushing your system.
  • It is quickly assimilated and provides energy.
  • Low in calories and free of fat.
  • Bite-size chunks fit in glass containers and serve as an easy snack to satisfy the sweet tooth in a healthy way
  • Pineapples contain Vitamin B1 which is said to help metabolize carbohydrates.

fresh Hawaiian pineapple

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Courtney
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 21:04:02

    I don’t know about pineapple for weight loss, but I am insanely jealous that you have it growing in your front yard! What a treat 🙂

    Courtney

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 22:39:19

    I love pineapple…..it would be so cool to have it right out our door!

    Reply

  3. spabettie
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 16:19:28

    Mmm, I love fresh pineapple. I love Hawaii… and I am jealous of your fresh pineapple in your garden! 🙂 at our place in Hawaii we had coconuts, which were fun and good in their own way, but pineapple…

    lucky girl!

    Reply

Leave a comment