Ginger-Mint Mojito Sundowner

Lately, I’ve not been one for drinking spirits. I’m not sure why, maybe because I’m getting older and those college days in New Orleans have indelibly left their mark…or perhaps because life on the Island is a better relaxant than any kind of alcohol. Maybe because I enjoy a good glass of red wine more than anything else.

Those days might be over!

For the ginger-mint mojito sundowner (or in my case, nightcap), you will need:

  1. 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  2. 1/3 cup rum
  3. 10 fresh mint leaves
  4. 1-2 tsp. ginger root, peeled and minced
  5. 1 tbsp. brown sugar
  6. 1/2 cup pellegrino

serves: 1-2

Place these ingredients into a bowl and mash them with a spoon. Let the potion sit for 20 minutes. Fill your glass  with as many ice cubes as you see fit and strain the rum mixture into your glass along with 1/2 cup pellegrino. Garnish with mint sprigs. Share with a friend and savor while you watch the sunset!

ginger-mint mojito sundowner

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vegan Epicurean
    May 13, 2010 @ 14:12:12

    Aimee,

    The flavor combination sounds great. I bet this is “almost” as good without the rum. 😉

    Alicia

    Reply

  2. Courtney
    May 13, 2010 @ 17:47:33

    I just discovered your blog–it is great! I am having fun looking through past posts 🙂 Thanks so much for all of the posts and all of the work that goes into the blog…it is appreciated!

    Courtney

    Reply

  3. pursuenaturalny2008
    May 14, 2010 @ 02:17:20

    Great ginger drink recipe! I am going to add this link to my site (pursuenatural.wordpress.com) where I expand upon the natural immune strengthening properties of ginger. Some may prefer your delightful recipe to hot ginger tea, a traditional favorite in ancient cultures.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Ginger – a time-tested medicinal plant « Pursue natural
  5. rowena
    May 14, 2010 @ 09:31:10

    I like the sound of this, and with the mint plants pushing out new growth it looks like I’ll be up to my ears with the stuff.

    Reply

  6. ali la loca
    May 15, 2010 @ 19:35:09

    This sounds divine!

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Cookbook Club Green Tea Mojito Recipe | CookBook Club

Leave a Reply

