If you want to lose weight, get off your bum

There is emerging evidence that to lose weight, strenuous exercise is not necessary. This is true for a variety of reasons but namely because after a strenuous workout we tend to eat more calories than we burn during our exercise routine. This is especially true for women. Weight loss and exercise research are gradually favoring more moderate movement pursuits.   According to an article published in the NY Times on Sunday, one of the best things we can do to lose weight (aside from consuming fewer calories) is simply to stand up.  This taken from the last paragraph of the article: Standing, for both men and women, burned multiple calories but did not ignite hunger. One thing is going to become clear in the coming years, Braun says: if you want to lose weight, you don’t necessarily have to go for a long run. “Just get rid of your chair. To read the article in its entirety visit: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/18/magazine/18exercise-t.html?pagewanted=1&th&emc=th

For those of us who spend long days working at a desk in front of a computer, this news is discouraging. If you are able, take short breaks throughout the day to stand and stretch, or when spending time in front of a computer at home, try working while standing-in front of your kitchen counter. I’ve started doing this and I have to say I like it. I can stretch, sway from side to side while listening to music and putter around in the kitchen at the same time!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rowena
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 05:22:51

    Aimee, I have to say that with wordpress, you most likely have better creative freedom of how you want your site to look. I’ve had the notion to switch over too but with my daiyl schedule….I just don’t want to even think about it!

    Now I go to do some gardening work!

    Reply

  2. aimeeshealthyliving
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 08:00:05

    Hi Rowena,

    Yes, I just wanted something new and different, and I think you may be right about more creative freedom here as well as the ability to upgrade to a website. I’ll let you know what I think after I’ve been here awhile.
    Have fun in the garden!

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 15:14:38

    Aim,

    At my kids’ school they sit on WitFit balls instead of chairs. They are like excerise balls with little nubs on the bottom so they don’t roll around. The kids love them and they improve posture, core stabilization, and cuts down on fidgetyness. Great idea for us grown ups too!

    Reply

  4. aimeeshealthyliving
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 19:29:00

    Hi Sarah,

    That is a great idea. I’m glad to hear about the progress!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

